• PATREON

    PRIDE & PREJUDICE spoilery vlog

    For the first time this year I decided to partake in Jane Austen July. There are a variety of different prompts one can fulfill for the readathon but I wanted to start by just reading one of Jane Austen’s novels and I decided to re-read Pride and Prejudice because I plan on reading five of her main novels this year. (This was my third for the year, I don’t plan on reading Mansfield Park, my strong dislike for that book…

  • Uncategorized

    Pride and Prejudice

    Author: Jane AustenOf all Jane Austen's books, Pride and Prejudice has earned a special place in the hearts of the reading public as her best-loved and most intimately known novel. From its famous opening sentence the story of the Bennet family and of the novel's two protagonists, Elizabeth and Darcy, told with a wit that its author feared might prove 'rather too light and bright, and sparkling', delights its most familiar readers as thoroughly as it does…

  • Uncategorized

    In the Teeth of Evidence

    Author: Dorothy L. SayersSeries: The Lord Peter Wimsey MysteriesDorothy L Sayers' amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey returns in this collection of mysteries, introduced by crime writer Elizabeth George. A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams. In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body . . . An accident, said the police. An accident,…

  • Uncategorized

    The Blue Castle

    Author: L. M. MontgomeryAt twenty-nine, Valancy has never been in love, and it seems romance has passed her by. Living with her overbearing mother and meddlesome aunt, she finds her only consolations in the "forbidden" books of John Foster and her daydreams of the Blue Castle. Then a letter arrives from Dr. Trent--and Valancy decides to throw caution to the winds. For the first time in her life Valancy does and says exactly what she wants. Soon she…

  • Uncategorized

    Nineteen Eighty-Four

    Author: George OrwellRenowned urban artist Shepard Fairey's new look for Orwell's classic dystopian tale One of Britain's most popular novels, George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four is set in a society terrorised by a totalitarian ideology propagated by The Party. Winston Smith works for the Ministry of Truth in London, chief city of Airstrip One. Big Brother stares out from every poster, the Thought Police uncover every act of betrayal. When Winston finds love with Julia, he discovers that…

  • Uncategorized

    Anne of Green Gables

    Author: Lucy Maud MontgomeryAnne, an eleven-year-old orphan, is sent by mistake to live with a lonely, middle-aged brother and sister on a Prince Edward Island farm and proceeds to make an indelible impression on everyone around her.