• Uncategorized

    Crime and Poetry

    Author: Amanda FlowerSeries: A Magical Bookshop MysteryPublished: 2016-04Rushing home to sit by her ailing grandmother’s bedside, Violet Waverly is shocked to find Grandma Daisy the picture of perfect health. Violet doesn’t need to read between the lines: her grandma wants Violet back home and working in her magical store, Charming Books. It’s where the perfect book tends to fly off the shelf and pick you... Violet has every intention to hightail it back to Chicago, but then a dead man…

  • Uncategorized

    Spy School

    Author: Stuart GibbsSeries: Spy SchoolPublished: 2013-04-02Ben Ripley may only be in middle school, but he’s already pegged his dream job: CIA or bust. Unfortunately for him, his personality doesn’t exactly scream “secret agent.” In fact, Ben is so awkward, he can barely get to school and back without a mishap. Because of his innate nerdiness, Ben is not surprised when he is recruited for a magnet school with a focus on science—but he’s entirely shocked to discover that the school…

  • Uncategorized

    Space Case

    Author: Stuart GibbsSeries: Moon Base AlphaPublished: 2015-10-13Like his fellow lunarnauts—otherwise known as Moonies—living on Moon Base Alpha, twelve-year-old Dashiell Gibson is famous the world over for being one of the first humans to live on the moon. And he’s bored out of his mind. Kids aren’t allowed on the lunar surface, meaning they’re trapped inside the tiny moon base with next to nothing to occupy their time—and the only other kid Dash’s age spends all his time hooked into virtual…

  • Uncategorized

    N or M?

    Author: Agatha ChristieSeries: Tommy and TuppencePublished: 2012-04-17It is World War II, and while the RAF struggles to keep the Luftwaffe at bay, Britain faces an even more sinister threat from "the enemy within"—Nazis posing as ordinary citizens. With pressure mounting, the intelligence service appoints two unlikely spies, Tommy and Tuppence Beresford. Their mission: to seek out a man and a woman from among the colorful guests at Sans Souci, a seaside hotel. But this assignment is no stroll along the…

  • Uncategorized

    In the Teeth of Evidence

    Author: Dorothy L. SayersSeries: The Lord Peter Wimsey MysteriesPublished: 2017-03-28Dorothy L Sayers' amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey returns in this collection of mysteries, introduced by crime writer Elizabeth George. A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams. In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body . . . An accident, said the police. An…

  • Uncategorized

    Whose Body?

    Author: Dorothy L. SayersSeries: The Lord Peter Wimsey MysteriesPublished: 2009-11-18There's a corpse in the bathtub, wearing nothing but a pair of pince-nez spectacles. Enter Lord Peter Wimsey, the original gentleman sleuth. Urged to investigate by his mother, the Dowager Duchess of Denver, Lord Peter quickly ascertains that the sudden disappearance of a well-known financier is in some way connected to the body in the bathroom. But discovering exactly which way they're related leads the amateur detective on a merry chase. Written by…

Pinterest
fb-share-icon